Latest News


Uttarakhand Legislative Assembly

On 09 November 2000, Uttarakhand  came into existence as the 27th state of the country. Spread over an area of about 53483 square kilometres, the Kali River forms the border with Nepal in the east of Uttarakhand and the Tons river with Himachal in the west. In the north, the vast Himalaya mountain  and in the south the Terai land joins this state with Uttar Pradesh. At the time of formation of the state, Uttarakhand was named as Uttaranchal, but according to the sentiments of the people and the state agitators, the name of the state was changed to Uttarakhand on January 01, 2007. Administratively, Uttarakhand has two divisions, Garhwal and Kumaon.