Swami Rama Himalayan University (Amendment) Bill, 2021 (Uttarakhand Bill No. Year, 2021)

A Bill

Further to amend the Swami Rama Himalayan University Act, 2012.

Be it enacted by Uttarakhand State Legislative Assembly in the Seventy-second Year of the Republic of India as follows:-

Short title and Commencement

- 1. (1) This Act may be called the Swami Rama Himalayan University (Amendment) Act, 2021.
 - (2) It shall come into force at once.

Amendment in the Act

In the Swami Rama Himalayan University Act, 2012, (hereinafter referred to as the principal Act) for the words "Constituent College" wherever they occur, the words "Constituent College/School" shall be substituted.

Amendment of Section 4

- **3.** In Section 4 of the principal Act, clause (a) of sub-section (3) shall be substituted as follows, namely:-
 - "(a) The headquarters of the University shall be at Swami Rama Nagar, Dehradun, Uttarakhand. the second campus of the University shall be established at Toli, Malla Badalpur, Pauri Garhwal:

Provided that University before establishing a campus outside the main campus, shall comply with the University Grants Commission (Establishment of and Maintenance of Standards in Private Universities) Regulations 2003 (as amended from time to time) "

Amendment of Section 8

4. In Section 8 of the principal Act, clause (e) of subsection (1) shall be substituted as follows, namely:-

(e) To grant donation or assistance to institutions having similar objectives.

Amendment of Section 21

- 5. In Section 21 of the principal Act, clause (c) of subsection (2) shall be substituted as follows, namely:-
 - "(c) to review its own decisions and the decisions taken by any other authority or officer of the University"

Amendment of Section 22

- 6. In Section 22 of the principal Act, sub-section (1) shall be substituted as follows, namely:-
 - (1) The Board of Management shall consist of:-
 - (a) The Vice-Chancellor Chairperson;
 - (b) The pro- Vice-Chancellor, if any;
 - (c) The Principal Secretary/Secretary, Government of Uttarakhand, Department of Higher Education;
 - (d) 05(five) persons nominated by the Promoting Society;
 - (e) 03(three) Deans/Principals/Directors of constitutent colleges/schools by rotation nominated by the Chancellor;
 - (f) 02(two) Professors on the basis of seniority cum rotation nominated by the Chancellor on recommendation of Vice-Chancellor;
 - (g) The Registrar Member Secretary

Amendment of Section 47

- 7. In Section 47 of the principal Act, sub-section (1) shall be substituted as follows, namely:-
 - (1) The bank accounts of the University shall be opened in any nationalized bank or scheduled bank.