Legislative Assembly Uttarakhand -  An Introduction

Vidhan Sabha Bhawan, Dehradun

On 09 November 2000, Uttarakhand  came into existence as the 27th state of the country. Spread over an area of about 53483 square kilometres, the Kali river forms the border with Nepal in the east of Uttarakhand and the Tons river with Himachal in the west. In the north, the vast Himalaya mountain  and in the south the Terai land joins this state with Uttar Pradesh. At the time of formation of the state, Uttarakhand was named as Uttaranchal, but according to the sentiments of the people and the state agitators, the name of the state was changed to Uttarakhand on January 01, 2007. Administratively, Uttarakhand has two divisions, Garhwal and Kumaon.

       The total number of districts is 13. At the time of formation of the state, there were 30 members in the Interim Legislative Assembly, out of which 22 members were from the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly and 08 from the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council. At present there are 70 seats in the Uttarakhand Legislative Assembly. In the interim government Shri Prakash Pant was elected Speaker of the Legislative Assembly. In the first elected assembly in the year 2002, Shri Yashpal Arya ji was the speaker of the assembly. In the year 2007, Mr. Shri Harbans Kapoor, Shri Govind Singh Kunjwal in the year 2012 and Shri Prem Chand Agarwal in the year 2017 became the Speaker of the Vidhan Sabha.

       Presently Smt. Ritu Khanduri Bhushan is the Speaker of Uttarakhand Legislative Assembly and Shri Pushkar Singh Dhami is the Leader of the House. The temporary capital of Uttarakhand is Dehradun and the summer capital of Bharadisain is in Gairsain. At the time of the formation of the state in the year 2000, the Uttarakhand Legislative Assembly was conducted in Vikas Bhawan located on Defense Colony Road of Dehradun, but gradually a lot of infrastructure facilities were developed and at present the assembly building is operating in this building.



Vidhan Sabha Bhawan, Gairsain
According to the sentiments of the Uttarakhand state agitators, on 04 March 2020, Bharadisain, Gairsain, situated on the Dudhaatoli peak of the Himalayan region, was declared as the summer capital of the state. A grand Vidhan Bhawan has been constructed here and every year assembly sessions are also being held.         
At present, the infrastructure facilities are being developed at a rapid pace. Situated at an altitude of 5410 feet above sea level, the assembly complex has been developed over an area of 47 acres. Veer Chandra Singh Garhwali, the hero of the Peshawar massacre and the great freedom fighter, first proposed Gairsain as the capital in the 1960s. In 1992, Gairsain was renamed as Chandranagar after him.      
Our Bharadisain, Gairsain assembly located in the lap of Himalayas and Doon's assembly located in Dehradun, the city of Guru Drona are committed towards fulfilling the aspirations and aspirations of the people and are running towards this goal.